Reflection on Blogging Journey

Keeping up with this blog through out the year has definitely been a journey. It has been fun to explore the different facets of my passion for coffee through writing. I have also enjoyed being able to share the insights of a coffee aficionado to my family and friends. Although there were some great moments captured by my blog this year, there are some things I could have done better.

I found myself sometimes limiting how much I wrote because I didn’t have much time and knew I only needed to meet the minimum content requirement for the blog review assignments. However, I have a huge passion for coffee so I know that if I would have taken the time to expand upon my thoughts then my blog could have had even more to offer. The experience will benefit me in the future because I now understand the importance of creating your own brand in order to advance in the field of mass communication. Having an active blog with longevity and a decent following would be great professionally because it shows employers that you are well versed in creating content, promoting it and using content management systems.

Screen Shot 2015-12-03 at 6.12.46 PM

Screen Shot 2015-12-03 at 6.13.12 PM
Statistics from WordPress of my blog.

My best week of blogging, in terms of post views was on November 21. This was the day of one of my very first blog posts. I believe that this was the most popular post and week of the year because of the platform I publicized on it. I was surprised to find out that when I promoted my blog on tumblr, not many views occurred. However, when I promoted it on twitter and facebook, the views sky rocketed in comparison. Through this experience I have learned the importance of promoting my blog through the right platform and at the right time of day.

Leave a Reply

